Prairie Oyster

Prairie Oyster is a Canadian country music group formed in 1975 in Toronto, Ontario. As a trio they include singer/ bassist Russell deCarle, guitarist Keith Glass, and steel guitarist Dennis Delorme. In 1983 they added fiddler John P. Allen, keyboardist Joan Besen, and drumme John Adames to the lineup.

The group released their debut album Oyster Tracks, in 1986 on Stony Plain Records. Prairie Oyster was named Country Group or Duo of the Year at the Juno Awards in 1986 and 1987.

Their first album for RCA, Different Kind of Fire, was released in 1990 in both Canada and the United States. With the success of the album, Prairie Oyster was named the CCMA Group or Duo of the Year in 1990 and 1991. They also won the Juno Award for Country Group or Duo of the Year in 1991. 

Prairie Oyster's third album, Everybody Knows was released in 1991 and featured four top ten singles in Canada: "One Precious Love", "Did You Fall in Love with Me", "Everybody Knows" and "Will I Do (Till the Real Thing Comes Along). The band's fourth album, Only One Moon, was released in Canada on Arista Records and would go on to become their most successful. Blue Plate Special, their fifth album was released in 1996.The first song released from the disc, "Unbelievable Love" reached No. 1. With the 1998 release of their sixth album, What Is This Country? the group returned to the top ten with the songs "Canadian Sunrise" and "Keep On Dreaming". 

The band released their greatest hits album, String of Pearls: A Greatest Hits Collection in 2000. Prairie Oyster released their latest album, One Kiss, with Open Road Recordings in 2006. The group continues to tour and perform at music festivals and clubs in Canada and the United States. 

Prairie Oyster was inducted into the Canadian Hall of Fame in 2008. 

You are here: Clients Prairie Oyster

Metalworks Studios

3611 Mavis Rd,
Mississauga, ON, L5C 1T7
Phone: 905-279-4000
Fax: 905-279-4006

Phone: 905.279.4000 ext: 2555